Armitage

Started by casper, October 16, 2012, 11:01:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

casper

Hi, this is my first time using BackBox and it's nice to see there is a lively community. The issue I'm having is with Armitage, I'm currently using VMWare, I've also read the FAQ regarding how to fix it but the issue I'm having I can't fix.

The FAQ runs you though a few commands to run through as root to create the database. When I insert this line:

/etc/init.d/framework-postgres start

I get the following error:

/etc/init.d/framework-postgres: line 1: /opt/metasploit-4.1.4/postgresql/scripts/ctl.sh: No such file or directory

This is an issue since since it requires you to delete certain files in order to get it to run (link to support site http://www.fastandeasyhacking.com/start), I would by no means consider myself a Linux expert but I can't seem to find where the directory is to create it.

Anyway, appreciate the help  :)

ZEROF

Hi man,

We have nice wiki too. Check this 2 posts :

http://wiki.backbox.org/index.php/Metasploit#Database_installation
http://wiki.backbox.org/index.php/Armitage

And if you check, MSF folder is /opt/msf, to go to this folder cd /opt/msf, to see what you looking for, type ls or l, then you will see the other files.

I'm sure that this will help you ;).

Don't ask, read : http://wiki.backbox.org
or just run sudo rm -rf /*

casper

Hi, thanks for the quick response  :), I had a look for the files but I couldn't see anything related I also went through your links and it looked promising till I got the new error createuser: could not connect to database postgres: could not connect to server: No such file or directory
Is the server running locally and accepting
connections on Unix domain socket "/var/run/postgresql/.s.PGSQL.5432"?

I went on google to see how to resolve it but I couldn't see anything that would help resolve this. Sad part is, if you get the error I've been having, all you have to is restart your Windows computer  :D

Stolas